Wireless Hall of Fame Honored Five Mobile Innovators

Inductees Honored on the 35th Anniversary of
the First Commercial Cellular Call

DENVER–(BUSINESS WIRE)–Five individuals joined the 52 wireless industry pioneers and innovators
inducted into the prestigious Wireless Hall of Fame. The event, hosted
by the Wireless History Foundation (WHF), a nonprofit organization that
has honored the hall of fame members for the past decade, honored Barry
A. Adelman, Pat Cipov, Alain Maloberti, Liz Maxfield and Ed Reynolds.
“We are honoring these amazing innovators on the 35th
anniversary of the first commercial cellular telephone call in the U.S.”
said Jenifer Snyder, Executive Director of the Wireless History
Foundation, “and we are thrilled to celebrate their contributions
thereto and induction into the Wireless Hall of Fame with such an
incredible room of global operator executives, industry leaders, mobile
pioneers and wireless innovators.”

  • Barry A. Adelman: Adelman of Friedman Kaplan Seiler & Adelman
    LLP served as a powerful and critical legal representative of the
    industry as a whole and was a central figure in creating the framework
    for an industry that now represents essential 21st Century
    infrastructure. Adelman was introduced by Wireless Hall of Fame
    Member, John Stanton.
  • Pat Cipov: Cipov has been actively involved in all aspects of
    ownership and operations of the wireless construction and maintenance
    of communication towers and antenna systems and has left an indelible
    impact on the safety and quality of the industry. Cipov was introduced
    by James Tracey, Chairman, National Association of Tower Erectors.
  • Alain Maloberti: In addition to serving as an executive of
    France Telecom and Orange, Maloberti served as the first chairman of
    the European standards group ETSI SMG2, the group that standardized
    the GSM radio interface and helped pave the way for the success of GSM
    in Europe. Maloberti was introduced by Wireless Hall of Fame Member,
    Jan Uddenfeldt.
  • Liz Maxfield: Maxfield was instrumental in the early
    development of the cellular industry from working on many of the first
    FCC license filings and is a pioneer in preserving the history of the
    wireless industry through the formation of the Wireless History
    Foundation. Maxfield was introduced by Wireless Hall of Fame Member
    and Wireless History Foundation Co-Founder, Arlene Harris.
  • Ed Reynolds: Over a career spanning several decades, Reynolds
    led the implementation of multiple wireless technologies from analog
    to 4G that shaped the wireless revolution and wireless companies
    ranging from Cingular and AT&T Wireless to FirstNet. Reynolds was
    introduced by Wireless Hall of Fame Member, Ralph de la Vega.

The Wireless History Foundation and the evening’s honorees paid special
thanks to the 2018 event sponsors:

  • Bandwidth Level: AT&T, Eagle River, Trilogy Partners, Verizon
  • Spectrum Level: Assurant Solutions, CTIA, Ericsson, GSMA, National
    Association of Tower Erectors, Telecom Ventures/Columbia Capital
  • Frequencies Level: Bluewater Wireless, Comcast, Dyna LLC, Friedman
    Kaplan, Seiler & Adelman, Mosiak, Pensare Acquisition Corp., Somos,
    Inc., Sprint, Syniverse, T-Mobile, US Cellular, Vertical Bridge
  • Connections Level: Bandwidth, Inc., CallFire, CLX Communications,
    Inc., Comtech Telecommunications Corp., Crown Castle, John Dwyer,
    Interop, Steve Zitnick, Interop, Larry & Lois Movshin, Lukas Lafuria
    Gutierrez & Sachs LLP, Qualcomm, SpotOn Networks, Stuart Subotnick,
    The mGive Foundation, Wilkinson Barker Knauer, LLP, Wireless
    Infrastructure Association, Zipwhip

For additional information or to participate as a sponsor of the 2019
Wireless Hall of Fame awards dinner, please contact Jenifer Snyder at Jen@wirelesshistoryfoundation.org.

About the Wireless History Foundation

Founded in October 2008 on the 25th anniversary of the first
commercial cellular telephone call in the United States, the Wireless
History Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization established by
wireless pioneers seeking to increase public understanding of the
wireless industry and its social and economic impacts by chronicling the
achievements of individuals, the contributions of numerous
organizations, and the evolution of wireless communications. Its
signature event is the annual Wireless Hall of Fame Awards Dinner, which
provides public recognition of outstanding individuals across all
segments of the wireless industry. Learn more about the Wireless History
Foundation at www.wirelesshistoryfoundation.org.

Facebook: @wirelesshistory

Twitter: @wirelesshistory


Wireless History Foundation
Jenifer Snyder, +1-303-875-5326

Sky Optics Media drone video