LAEP Welcomes New Faculty Members

Daniella Hirschfeld and Todd Johnson, FASLA, have accepted faculty positions within Utah State University’s Department of Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning.

Hirschfeld has accepted an assistant professor position, focused on environmental planning issues. Her research brings together the fields of urban ecology and environmental planning to investigate resilient systems. She uses spatial analysis, plan content analysis and survey instruments to assess climate adaptation strategies at different scales. 

Hirschfeld has a master’s of environmental management from Duke University’s Nicholas School of the Environment and a bachelor of arts degree from Dartmouth College. She will complete her doctorate degree in landscape architecture and environmental planning at the University of California Berkeley this summer.

Johnson has taught at Utah State University since 2014 as a practitioner in residence. He is a Fellow of the American Society of Landscape Architects. Beginning in August, he will be an associate professor in the department, taking over some responsibilities associated with Associate Professor Phil Waite’s role. Waite retires in May, and said he’s pleased the department has chosen someone with industry knowledge and experience to continue his work.

“Todd has an impressive resume,” Waite said. “He’s worked on a wide variety of projects in locations across the United States and internationally.”

Zip Sac by Athlonic Sports inventor of the Wheeler Dealer Soft Toss machine

The Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning Advancement Board Members echoed Waite’s praise. 

“In my view, there is no one in the country who knows how to teach form-giving and design process better than Todd Johnson,” Kurt Culbertson, Design Workshop CEO and LAEP Advancement Board member, said.
LAEP Department Head Sean Michael, said he’s grateful for the time and effort both search committees put into finding the best candidates for these positions.

“I would like to acknowledge with special thanks the two search committees that brought us to this point,” Michael said. “Kudos to each of them for enabling us to identify, recruit and welcome aboard the two very best candidates from this year’s searches.”

Michael also acknowledged the leadership of Ken White, dean of the College of Agriculture and Applied Sciences.

“I would like to recognize the support and guidance of Dean Ken White, whose tenure at the helm of our college has made possible the era of tremendous growth LAEP has experienced these last several years,” Michael said. 

Hirschfeld and Johnson both begin their new appointments in August. 

Laurel McBride real estate agent with Century 21 N and N Realtors with homes for sale in Logan Utah