Dr. Rob Aitken, Arm Fellow, to Serve as the 56th Design Automation Conference General Chair

A successful 2018 event reaffirms DAC as world’s premier event
devoted to the design and design automation of electronic chips to

Automation Conference (DAC)
, the premier event devoted to electronic
design and design automation of electronic systems, has named Dr. Rob
Aitken as the 56th DAC General Chair. In turn, Dr. Aitken has
selected a diverse group of volunteers from across the semiconductor,
design, research, embedded systems, intellectual property and electronic
design automation (EDA) industries to join the 2019 Executive Committee
(EC). The EC oversees the exhibition and trade show, plans the technical
program, establishes new initiatives, and manages conference operations
and publicity. The 56th DAC will be held at the Las Vegas
Convention Center in Las Vegas, NV from June 2 – 6, 2019.

Dr. Aitken is an Arm Fellow responsible for technology direction at Arm
Research. He works on a variety of topics including distributed systems,
low-power design, technology road-mapping, and next-generation memories.
He has worked on more than 15 Moore’s Law nodes and has published more
than 80 technical papers. Dr. Aitken’s published papers are on a wide
range of topics including impacts of technology scaling, statistics of
memory bit cell variability and the use of static current monitoring as
a circuit testing and diagnostic mechanism (papers on the last topic
twice received the best paper award from the International Test
Conference). He joined Arm as part of its acquisition of Artisan
Components in 2004. Prior to Artisan, he worked at Agilent and HP. He
holds 30 US patents. Dr. Aitken earned his Ph.D. from McGill University
in Canada and is an IEEE Fellow. Other honors include the IEEE Computer
Society Distinguished Service Award, 2010, the IEEE Computer Society
Meritorious Service Award, 2006, the IEEE Computer Society “Golden Core”
Member Award, 2003 and the IEEE Computer Society Outstanding
Contribution Award, 2002 and 2013.

56th DAC EC members are:

  • Vice-Chair – Zhuo Li, Cadence Design Systems
  • Finance Chair – Patrick Groeneveld, Cadence Design Systems
  • Technical Program Co-Chair – Anand Raghunathan, Purdue
  • Technical Program Co-Chair – Harry Foster, Mentor, A Siemens
  • Panel Chair – Vivek De, Intel Corp.
  • Tutorial Chair – Dr. HaiHelen” Li, Duke University,
    North Carolina
  • IP Track Chair – Ty Garibay, Mythic, Inc.
  • Design Track Co-Chair – Robert Oshana, NXP Semiconductors, Inc.
  • Designer Track Co-Chair – Ambar Sarkar, Nvidia Corp.
  • Designer Track Co-Chair – Renu Mehra, Synopsys Inc.
  • Special Sessions Chair – Joerg Henkel, Karlsruhe Institute of
  • Industry/Exhibition Chair – Rob van Blommestein, Marketing
  • Industry/Exhibition Co-Chair – McKenzie Ross, OneSpin, Inc.
  • Publicity/Marketing Chair – Michelle Clancy, Cayenne
  • European Outreach Chair – Anne Cirkel, Mentor, A Siemens
  • Asia Outreach Chair – Dr. Shaojun Wei, Tsinghua University
  • Past Chair – Dr. Sharon Hsu, University of Norte Dame
  • Specialty Chair Automotive – Joe D’Ambrosio, General Motors
  • Specialty Chair Security – Ingrid Verbauwhede, K.U. Leuven
  • ACM SIGDA Representative – Vijaykrishnan Narayanan,
    Pennsylvania State University
  • IEEE/CEDA Representative – Ayse Coskun, Boston University

“Over the years DAC has grown to be the one event for the electronic
design and design automation community to gather, learn and collaborate.
I am honored to be selected as General Chair of this design ecosystem
institution,” Dr. Aitken said. “In the next 10 months, I’ll collaborate
closely with the accomplished group of volunteers to drive the direction
of the DAC event and create a technical program that will bring new
information and opportunity to attendees.”

About DAC

The Design Automation Conference (DAC) is recognized as the premier
event for the design of electronic circuits and systems, and for
electronic design automation (EDA) and silicon solutions. A diverse
worldwide community representing more than 1,000 organizations attends
each year, represented by system designers and architects, logic and
circuit designers, validation engineers, CAD managers, senior managers
and executives to researchers and academicians from leading
universities. Close to 60 technical sessions selected by a committee of
electronic design experts offer information on recent developments and
trends, management practices and new products, methodologies and
technologies. A highlight of DAC is its exhibition and suite area with
approximately 175 of the leading and emerging EDA, silicon, intellectual
property (IP) and design services providers. The conference is sponsored
by the Association for Computing Machinery’s Special Interest Group on
Design Automation (ACM SIGDA), the Electronic Systems Design Alliance
(ESDA), and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineer’s
Council on Electronic Design Automation (IEEE CEDA).

Design Automation Conference acknowledges trademarks or registered
trademarks of other organizations for their respective products and


Cayenne Communications
Michelle Clancy, 1-303-530-4334
DAC Publicity and Marketing Chair

Sky Optics Media drone video